Guruuuuuvy!

fitness, florida, health, healthy lifestyle, inspiration, inspire, life, motivation, roller derby, roller skating, RollerCon, skating, sports, strength, wellness, yoga

Day 8 of 30!

image

Today I got an opportunity to go back to Palm Coast with my outdoor skating guru and shred the Lehigh trail together!

Modesty aside, I was certain that this was the one thing I knew for sure that I could outshine him in… 😀

What made me so happy and proud of him was that he did not try to compete, over exert himself to catch up, or do anything ridiculous in order to prove a point. He skated at his pace. Doing that distance alone was challenging enough. On the drive to the trail, he discussed how it’s important to do things outside of our comfort zone in order to grow. This for him was way outside of his comfort zone, and he did a stellar job today!

Because it was 90 degrees and we were already 11 miles in on the skate, we did take a short pause to rehydrate, and to replenish our electrolytes. While we were pausing, I told him about my derby hero, Tazmaniac. Taz and the Tampa Tantrums took on Gotham on Saturday, and she got lead jammer FIVE out of SIX jams. You know what Taz has working for her? A great team, incredible training, and an indomitable spirit. She’s strong, agile, and swole as FUCK. She is relentless, shows zero fatigue or wear, and is damn strong. 
image

Taz being her amazing self! Photo credit Regularman.

Three miles into the skate, I was feeling the heat and knew I could take it easy, or I could do my best. What would Taz do? GO. GOGOGO. And be smart about what my body is doing and feeling 🙂

Mile 8 I got a quick drink of water and coconut water, and at 11 we took a moment to pause and finish out strong.

image

Next time we’ll go earlier and be more proactive with hydration. We’ll also get Camelbacks and put electrolytes in our water 🙂

He and I also come from a background of knowing what it feels like to be much larger then we presently are. Having transitioned through a big reduction in body fat. He and I shared how we both have an internal image of the self we had become so familiar with for so long. And even though we are fit, we still see things in our bodies that remind us of what it was like to be much larger. For me, excess skin is something I’ve been thinking a bit more about lately. However, just like when transitioning through a fat reduction process, it’s important to appreciate the good things as they are right now. Right. Now.

After the skate, I took my yoga guru’s Monday night class and felt amazing during and after. I smelled like derby and a whole lotta funk, but gotdang did I FEEL amazing! So did the hot shower and dinner after 🙂

So, today I spent the day with two great influences, and am SO excited to experience our growth together ❤ Great conversations, inner growth, empowerment, training and amazing companions, on skates and in yoga class.

Today won best Monday 🙂 But then, all the days are great when we find reasons to make them great and see greatness 😉

2 thoughts on “Guruuuuuvy!

  1. Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is a very
    smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it
    and return to read more of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Like

Leave a Reply

