Meatless Monday!

Uncategorized

Going meatless on Mondays is a great way for me to add variety and find opportunities for culinary creativity! Knowing I’d be eating vegetarian meals today, I prepared several options for myself yesterday to stay on course.

Eating vegetarian at least once a week has proven favorable for my body and digestion as well. Just like cleanses, fasts, and detoxing, it’s another method of calibrating my body, giving myself a reset.

I wanted to show that there are still plenty of ways to get protein on a vegetarian diet, so here were my meals for the day:

Breakfast: oats with chia seeds, goji berries, cocao nibs, ground flax seed, and vanilla whey protein

Snack: Roasted soy nuts with goji berries, and an apple

Lunch: Tofu and peppers, carrots, zucchini, almonds and onion, roasted in coconut oil, with soy sauce, ginger, and Sriracha. Enjoyed some granola and watermelon after!

Supper: Green eggs made with kale, cilantro, green onion, jalapeno, cumin, chile powder and avocado

My protein intake for the day is over 100 grams – and again, that’s without any meat!

One of my methods for losing fat and maintaining fat loss is having my complex carbohydrates and fruits earlier in the day, and only proteins and vegetables after mid-afternoon. I do this so that my body can, at the end of the day, burn off any remaining complex sources of nutrition meant for energy (as the body is meant to do), instead of store it into fat.

I got the granola from my fabulous and incredibly talented friend Tina, who owns Natural Products by TMB (http://www.naturalproductsbytmb.com/). She has the best granola that I’ve had yet (so glad I get it locally, too!), and is very involved in our local community. In addition to delicious raw organic granolas, she makes natural beauty products and pet items. Profits from her pet product sales fund her non-profit Chloe’s Paw, which is an organization that helps families unable to pay the full cost of veterinary care. Great lady, and super great granola!

Today is also a great practice in taking what I’ve picked up in yoga and applying it universally. For instance, staying in the present moment (instead of getting wrapped up in worry, bad thoughts and such) is keeping me calm and not reacting when I feel a sense of anger rising up. It’s also a good way to just let the emotions do their thing, and in learning how to pay heed to the important ones, and just let the bad ones go without fixating on them.

My weekly schedule changes constantly, but this week I get to take today as a rest day. Mondays work perfectly for rest, since it’s the only day I can get in a Yin/Yoga Nidra practice at my regular studio, Kula Yoga http://www.mykulayoga.com/. Yin is a great practice in opening up sore and tense areas, and for me, is a very heavy mental practice. I love that, even on an active rest day, I still get to do yoga!

Looking forward to going to tonight’s yoga practice, and learning how I can open up further:)

Leave a Reply

